Report any unethical behaviour or gender-based intimidation and violence

Free call: 0800 022 007
Free fax: 0800 00 77 88

Minerals Council Office Bearers

  • Mxolisi Mgojo
    President: Mxolisi Mgojo

    President: Mxolisi Mgojo

    BSc (Hons)(Energy Studies), MBA, Advanced Management Programme (Wharton)

    Mxolisi Mgojo was appointed as CEO of Exxaro Resources Limited on 1 April 2016. He served as an Executive Head of Coal at Exxaro since August 2008 and served as its Executive Head of Operations. He was also responsible for the base metals and industrial minerals commodity business of Exxaro. Previously, Mgojo served as Head of Group Marketing of Eyesizwe Coal.

  • Nolitha Fakude
    Vice President: Nolitha Fakude

    Vice president: Nolitha Fakude

    Anglo American: Group Director of South Africa

    Nolitha Fakude has over 30 years of experience across a diverse range of industry sectors, including oil and gas, petrochemicals, financial services and retail.

    Prior to her appointment as group director, she was a non-executive director of the Anglo American plc Board. She also holds the position of a Non-Executive Director of the JSE Limited and serves on the Boards of Discovery Bank Holdings and International Woman’s Forum South Africa (IWFSA). She is a Patron of Guild Cottage home for girls.

    Nolitha has held senior management positions in corporate affairs, strategy and human resources in the retail and financial sectors. She has also served on various boards including Sasol, Harmony Gold and Woolworths Holdings, among others. Nolitha is a former President of the Black Management Forum (BMF).

    Nolitha holds a Bachelor of Arts and an Honours degree in Psychology from the University of Fort Hare. She is the author of a book, titled Boardroom Dancing which is a memoir tracking her career journey and role as a corporate activist and inspirational businesswoman with a passion for leadership development especially for women and black people in the workplace.

  • Neal Froneman
    Vice President: Neal Froneman

    Vice President: Neal Froneman

    BSc Mech Eng (Ind Opt), University of the Witwatersrand; BCompt, University of South Africa; PrEng

    Neal Froneman has been at the helm of Sibanye since January 2013 and has some 30 years of operational, corporate development and mining industry experience. He was appointed CEO of Aflease Gold Limited (Aflease Gold) in April 2003. Aflease Gold, through a series of reverse take-overs, became Gold One in May 2009. Neal was primarily responsible for the creation of Uranium One Incorporated (Uranium One) from the Aflease Gold uranium assets. During this period, he was CEO of Aflease Gold and Uranium One until his resignation from Uranium One in February 2008. Prior to joining Aflease Gold, Neal held executive and senior management positions at Gold Fields of South Africa Limited, Harmony Gold and JCI Limited. He currently serves as non-executive director in a number of companies.

  • Zanele Matlala
    Vice President: Zanele Matlala

    Vice president: Zanele Matlala

    BCom, BCompt (Hons), CA(SA)

    Zanele Matlala joined the Merafe board as an independent non-executive director in 2005 becoming the Chief Financial Officer in October 2010. She was appointed Chief Executive Officer in June 2012. She is also a non-executive director of Dipula Income Fund, Stefanutti Stocks Holdings, RAC Limited and Old Mutual Investment Group Holdings.

    Zanele was previously employed as non-executive director by Kagiso Media Ltd, an independent non-executive director by Gold Reef Resorts Ltd, group finance director by Kagiso Trust Investments Pty Ltd, and chief financial officer by the Development Bank of Southern Africa Ltd.

  • Steve Phiri
    Vice President: Steve Phiri

    Vice president: Steve Phiri

    BJuris, LLB, LLM, Dip Corp Law

    Steve Phiri has been at the helm of RBPlat since April 2010. Prior to taking up the position as CEO of RBPlat, he was the CEO of ferrochrome producer Merafe Resources Limited. He previously headed up the Royal Bafokeng Nation’s corporate and legal affairs, which included negotiations with entities such as Merafe and Impala Platinum Limited. He is admitted as an attorney of the High Court of South Africa.


  • Ayanda Bam
    Ayanda Bam, Kuyasa Mining (Executive Chairman)
  • Roger Baxter
    Roger Baxter, Minerals Council South Africa (CEO)
  • Paul Dunne
    Paul Dunne, Northam Platinum (CEO)
  • Werner Duvenhage
    Werner Duvenhage, Richards Bay Minerals (Managing Director)
  • Micheal Fraser
    Mike Fraser, South32 (President & COO Africa)
  • Japie Fullard
    Japie Fullard, Glencore (South Africa operations: Head - Ferroalloys)
  • Jinghua Han
    Jinghua Han, Palabora Mining Company (Executive Director and CEO)
  • Murray Houston
    Murray Houston, Glencore Coal (COO)
  • Lucky Kgatle
    Lucky Kgatle, Sasol Mining (MD)
  • Lerato Legong
    Lerato Legong, Sibanye-Stillwater (Executive Vice President: Legal and Compliance)
  • Moses Madondo
    Moses Madondo, AngloGold Ashanti (Head SA Operations)
  • Themba Mkhwanazi
    Themba Mkhwanazi, Kumba Iron Ore (CEO)
  • Nico Muller
    Nico Muller, Impala Platinum (CEO)
  • July Ndlovu
    July Ndlovu, Anglo American Coal (CEO)
  • Barend Petersen
    Barend Petersen, De Beers Consolidated Mines (Chairman)
  • Nico Pienaar
    Nico Pienaar, Aspasa (Director)
  • Martin Preece
    Martin Preece, Gold Fields (Executive Vice President: South Africa)
  • Niel Pretorius
    Niël Pretorius, DRDGOLD (CEO)
  • Wayne Robinson
    Wayne Robinson, Sibanye-Stillwater (EVP: SA PGM operations)
  • Mike Schmidt
    Mike Schmidt, African Rainbow Minerals (CEO)
  • Errol Smart
    Errol Smart, Orion Minerals (CEO)
  • Peter Steenkamp
    Peter Steenkamp, Harmony (CEO)
  • Richard Stewart
    Richard Stewart, Sibanye-Stillwater (Group Chief Operating Officer))
  • Mike Teke
    Mike Teke, Seriti Resources (CEO)
  • Nombasa Tsengwa
    Dr Nombasa Tsengwa, Exxaro (Executive Head of Coal Operations)
  • Natascha Viljoen
    Natascha Viljoen, Anglo American Platinum (CEO)
  • Charles Walters
    Charles Walters, Assore (CEO)

Minerals council executives

  • Roger Baxter
    Chief Executive Officer: Roger Baxter
  • Nikisi Lesufi
    Senior Executive: Environment, Health and Legacies: Nikisi Lesufi
  • Harry Groenewald
    Senior Executive: Finance and Administration: Harry Groenewald
  • Sietse Van Der Woude
    Senior Executive: Modernisation and Safety: Sietse van der Woude
  • Tebello Chabana
    Senior Executive: Public Affairs and Transformation: Tebello Chabana